Skip to Content


This ancient monument was built in 1329 when Edward the Third supplied grants for fortifying the town. It is the only survivor of the four gates which were built at the time. It has a chamber over the arches and two towers. There were once gates, a drawbridge and a portcullis.

Town/city or near: Rye
County: East Sussex

10 out of 10 stars (2 votes)

Been here before? Is it worth a visit? Rate it below.
Rate it


email this page   printer friendly page - Contact