Skip to Content


Lewes Priory Remains

Founded in circa 1077 by William and Gundrada de Warenne, the massive Cluniac Priory of St. Pancras is reputed to have been larger than that at Chichester. Unfortunately, in 1538 it was largely destroyed by Thomas Cromwell during Henry VIII's infamous Dissolution of the Monasteries. Fragments of the marble 13th Great Gate and domestic buildings remain. In 1845, the tombs of William de Warrene and his wife, Gundrada were found during the construction of the railway between Lewes and Brighton. The two now lie in the nearby Church of St. John the Baptist. Tours are available in summer.

Location
Address: Just off Cockshut Road, Southover
Town/city or near: Lewes
County: East Sussex
Opening Times
On open day or by special arrangement only.

Been here before? Is it worth a visit? Rate it below.
Rate it


 









email this page   printer friendly page



www.itraveluk.co.uk - Contact